NASA reported “First 2014 Asteroid”

Asteroid 2014 AA (Image credit: CSS/LPL/UA)
Asteroid 2014 AA (Image credit: CSS/LPL/UA)

NASA has reported an asteroid referred to as “First 2014 Asteroid” – 2014 AA – by the agency. The small asteroid – 7 to 10 feet (2 to 3 meters) in size – was seen with the help of the Catalina Sky Survey near Tucson, Ariz.

According to the agency, the asteroid most probably entered Earth’s atmosphere sometime between 11 a.m. PST (2 p.m. EST) Wednesday and 6 a.m. PST (9 a.m. EST) Thursday. Experts are of opinion that this asteroid would probably hit Earth somewhere from Central America to East Africa. According to Steve Chesley, of NASA’s Near-Earth Object Program Office at the Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, Calif., the most probable impact location of the object was just off the coast of West Africa at about 6 p.m. PST (9 p.m. EST) Jan.

This animated GIF shows Asteroid 2014 AA, discovered by the NASA-sponsored Catalina Sky Survey on Jan. 1, 2014, as it moved across the sky. (Image credit: CSS/LPL/UA)
This animated GIF shows Asteroid 2014 AA, discovered by the NASA-sponsored Catalina Sky Survey on Jan. 1, 2014, as it moved across the sky. (Image credit: CSS/LPL/UA)

Source:

First 2014 Asteroid Discovered – NASA (http://goo.gl/qkVeIh)

Usman Zafar Paracha

Usman Zafar Paracha is a sort of entrepreneur. He is the author of "Color Atlas of Statistics", and the owner of an Android game "Faily Rocket."